How to Cope with Airports

(image by Helen Stratton)

Darling, I once got off a plane after FIVE (yes, five) flights in a row and the friend who met me immediately took me out to lunch, then a drive, then to the place I was staying (only enough time to drop my bags), then out again – dinner and after dinner, a short drive to a scenic look-out, then I could rest.

[And if you are clever you will immediately guess that this was in Australian as that’s a place that takes a lot of flights to get to and Aussies (especially the women) are utterly hard-core and tough. They would no more need a rest after 5 flights than they would go out in the sun without a hat.]

Now, how did I cope with this? Splendidly, splendidly as I followed (as I ever do) my rules about airports and long-distance travel.

First, pack only a carry-on except when you are returning to where you live. Vacation time is too short to wait for luggage to show up on the conveyor belt. Yes, I have done 5 weeks of travel with a carry on (get the kind with 4 sets of wheels) and so can you.

As soon as the plane takes off, I put me watch/ phone on the time of the place I will land and as, if it’s a night flight, as soon as I am in my seat, I snuggle in (spray sanitizer over everything, put on Vicks, booties, earplugs, eyeshade, blanket) and start napping. I don’t look at a screen until 3 or 4 hours before landing (I know! Quelle will power! but you are on a plane to GO somewhere and how to you want to arrive: groggy from hours of social media and bad movies or refreshed and ready to hit exciting new cafes?)

Let children be excited about airplane food and movies, not you my dear. You are excited about the place you are going to and you want to arrive ready for shopping, not ready for a nap!

And of course, nibble something every 4 to 5 hours, you want to stay never hungry, never stuffed. And the nibbles you must bring with you – never trust the airlines (memories of being offered fig bars, BBQ-flavored pretzels, salsa-flavored  corn chips and ranch-flavored bagel slices – shudder!). Of course if you are on Swiss Air, you are safe, the most excellent cheese plates and they toss out Lindt chocolates like confetti. If you are on British Airways or KLM, you are semi-safe; if you are on a Arabian Peninsula airline, there is a high probability of lamb and rice; if you are a North American airline, give up all hope and pack enough snacks to feed your starving seat-mates.

And during transits – shopping! Ahh such lovely shopping, especially after a year in-country: the perfumes! the purses! the cheap foot massages and the make-up!

I was just in three airports (winner had stickers on the floor at arrivals in the shape of taxis, you followed the stickers to the taxi stand – so helpful! loser was the one whose symbol is a decapitated teddy bear, why on Earth would they chose THAT as their symbol….) and I can tell you, a good duty-free can fix a myriad of problems!

Remember to bring a large shawl in case you need to sleep on the floor and a good lip gloss, also a mini-face spray if possible. We love Fresh Rose or Vitamin Nectar, Tata Harper Floral Essence, Caudalie Beauty Elixir and Aveda Botanical Kinetics – they give the hit of an up-lifting fragrance without whacking the person next to you with a heavy scent.

In the car-via-app vs. taxi debate, I am always on the side of taxis. There they are, the little dears, all lined up and ready to whisk you away, often with Formula 1-level driving and some chatting about local happenings.

So, in you get and off you go – adventure awaits.